Mihir Ambre creates New Meet Record at Glenmark 44th Junior National Aquatic Championship 2017


o Trishna Karkhanis wins 2 Gold Medal in 200 m Girls Butterfly Group I and 100 m Backstroke Group I

o Mihir Ambre creates New Meet Record in the 100 m Butterfly Group I

o Maharashtra second the medal tally position with 19 Golds, 15 Silver and 9 Bronze Medals.

Mumbai, July 05, 2017: Trisha Karkhanis of Maharashtra brought all her experience to the fore to dominate the 200 m Butterfly Girls Group I winning gold with a time of 2:24.46. The second and third place saw a fantastic finish between two teammates and training partners of the SAI Glenmark TIDM programme, Firdoush Kayamkhani representing Rajasthan and Anubhuti Baruah of Adssam. Firdoush swam an amazing race to just clocking 2:32.25 while Anubhuti clocked 2:32.37 to win bronze.

The Maharashtra team represented by Sadhvi Dhuri, Yukta Vakhariya, Rutuja Talegaonkar and Glenmark Aquatic Foundation Swimmer Rayna Saldanha won gold with a time of 9:17.54 in the 4 X 200 m Girls Freestyle Group I followed by Karnataka with a time of 9:23.45 while Tamil Nadu won bronze with a time of 9:43.24.

Mihir Ambre of Maharashtra broke the first record in the evening session. Mihir clocked 55.65 in 100 m Boys Butterfly Category I to beat a decade old record held by Veerdhawal Khade. Xavier Dsouza who trains at the Glenmark Aquatic Foundation representing Goa won silver with a time of 57.17 while Rahul M of Karnataka won bronze with a time of 57.58.

SGTIDM swimmer Swadesh Mondal inched closer to claim the individual championship in Boys Group II category by establishing yet another national record claiming gold in 400 m Individual Medley with a time of 4:49.33. Aaryan Bhosale of Maharashtra won silver with a time of 4:57.74 while Aryan Nehra of Gujarat added a bronze to his kitty with a time of 5:00.29

The 800 m Freestyle in the Boys Group I category saw Advait Page of Madhya Pradesh winning the gold comfortably with a time of 8:25.35 while Glenmark Aquatic Foundation swimmer Sushrut Kapse representing Maharashtra saw him beat his personal best time to win silver with a time of 8:36.10 while his clubmate Kushagra Rawat from Delhi won bronze with a time of 8:41.38

The Karnataka team represented by Poojitha Murthy, Smruthi Mahalingam, Divya Ghosh and Khushi Dinesh some an exceptional race to win the 4 * 200 m freestyle race in the Girls Group II category. They clocked 9:15.38 to beat Maharashtra who won silver with a time of 9:23.81 while Tamil Nadu yet again claimed bronze with a time of 9:40.96

The 4 X 100m Medley Relay Girls Group I saw Karnataka win the gold with a time of 4:43.03 followed by Maharashtra with a time of 4:50.87 while Tamil Nadu secured their 7th bronze with a time of 4:55.50.




Leave A Reply

sixteen + 16 =